Palio


Palio is many things. First of all, it is a horse race which takes place twice a year (July 2 and August 16) in the main square of Siena, Piazza del Campo. However, this doesn't make of it a mere sport or competition: Palio is the prize itself too, given to the winner district (contrada). The prize is a painting on a tissue drawn exclusively for the Palio by more or less well-known artists, for each occasion. The horse race itself only lasts 80 seconds, but Palio, it is an everlasting thing for the inhabitants of the city.



Le Palio


Le Palio est beaucoup de choses. Tout d'abord, c'est une course de chevaux qui a lieu deux fois par an (le 2 juillet et le 16 août) sur la place principale de Sienne, Piazza del Campo. Cependant, cela n'en fait pas un simple sport ou une compétition: Le Palio est aussi le prix, donné au quartier vainqueur (contrada). Le prix est une peinture sur papier dessinée exclusivement pour le Palio par des artistes plus ou moins connus, pour chaque occasion. La course elle-même ne dure que 80 secondes, mais c'est une chose éternelle pour les habitants de la ville.

Sienne est organisée en 17 districts différents, ou Contrades. Ces communautés ne sont pas ouvertes à tous: traditionnellement, l'adhésion est donnée par le droit d'aînesse, et l'initiation (Battesimo Contradaiolo) est l'une des cérémonies les plus importantes de la vie communautaire, puisqu'elle célèbre officiellement l'union d'une Contrada. Toute personne qui obtient l'opportunité de

Le témoin du Palio se rendra bientôt compte que ce n'est pas un événement organisé pour les touristes. Évidemment, tout le monde est la bienvenu ici, mais considérez que le Palio est une tradition authentique et sincère qui vit dans le cœur des citoyens et représente le moment le plus intense de l'année, sinon de toute la vie, dans la communauté.

Pourquoi existe-t-il
le Palio ?



Les districts étaient des compagnies militaires, des guildes de travailleurs qui donnaient des soldats à la ville en cas de besoin. En période de paix, on se réjouissait et s'entraînait avec des jeux violents, les soi-disant pugnae, qui déstabilisaient la république et laissaient derrière eux des chocs de haines sévères. Tout a évolué dans le Palio, qui est encore aujourd'hui une métaphore de la guerre, un conflit contrôlé.

Pourquoi
court-on deux fois par an?



Depuis le tout début, le Palio a toujours été organisé pour le 16 août. En fait, il est connu comme Le Palio dell'Assunta, comme il est célébré en l'honneur de l'Assomption de Marie au Ciel. Au milieu du XVIe siècle, le miracle de Madonna di Provenzano eut lieu à Sienne: selon la légende, un soldat espagnol, membre de l'armée d'occupation de Charles Quint, essaya de photographier une représentation de Marie placée dans le district de Provenzano par Sainte Catherine elle-même. La légende raconte que l'arme du soldat a explosé en le tuant, alors que la statue est restée intacte. Les habitants de Sienne ont décidé de célébrer le miracle en organisant une course de chevaux le 2 juillet, en l'honneur de Marie de Provenzano.



Les Jours du Palio


Quiconque visite Sienne les jours précédant la course hippique du Palio (du 29 juin au 2 juillet ou du 13 août au 16 août) sera submergé par un ensemble unique de couleurs, sons, défilés historiques où drapeaux, chevaux et personnages traditionnels sont les principaux acteurs, entourés de foules de partisans des différents quartiers (contradas).

Pour le nouvel arrivant, tout cela ressemblerait probablement à un monde parallèle chaotique. Mais en fait, ce n'est pas le cas. Tout ce que vous voyez pendant les jours qui précèdent la course de chevaux a sa raison d'être de l'affectation officielle des chevaux aux jockeys, qui a lieu le 29 juin et le 13 août, jusqu'au jour même de la course. Les règles et les pratiques sont restées les mêmes tout au long des siècles et revêtent une importance particulière pour la population locale. Si vous voulez vraiment apprécier la célébration la plus importante de Sienne, il vous suffit de nous contacter .

Nos guides touristiques locaux sont à votre disposition et pourront vous présenter tous les aspects de l'histoire et des traditions de Sienne, y compris les rituels spécifiques et les règles du Palio. Vous aurez la chance d'assister à l'assignation du cheval aux contrades depuis l'un des balcons devant notre bureau sur Piazza del Campo, la bénédiction des chevaux avant la course, ou le rituel d'initiation des nouveaux membres de contradas. Nous savons exactement quand tout cela se passe et nous vous guiderons vers notre tradition unique, si vous le souhaitez.



Billets pour le Palio




Visant à promouvoir un type de tourisme qui soit au même temps conscient et soutenable, le Siena Info Point vous offre la possibilité de vivre une expérience complète de la séculaire tradition que les habitants ont gardée dans leur cœur si longtemps - le Palio. L'option First Choice vous permettra d’assister à la compétition assis sur les baignoires ou dès les terrasses de la zone de Fonte Gaia, après une visite guidée avec nos guides locales expertes.

Langues disponibles: Any

Visant à promouvoir un type de tourisme qui soit au même temps conscient et soutenable, le Siena Info Point vous offre la possibilité de vivre une expérience complète de la séculaire tradition que les habitants ont gardée dans leur cœur si longtemps - le Palio. Choisissez l'option Exclusive pour assister à la compétition dès les baignoires juste en front du départ, la "mossa", le moment le plus unique et intense de la course entière.

Langues disponibles: Any

Visant à promouvoir un type de tourisme qui soit au même temps conscient et soutenable, le Siena Info Point vous offre la possibilité de vivre une expérience complète de la séculaire tradition que les habitants ont gardée dans leur cœur si longtemps - le Palio. Cette option vous donne la possibilité d'assister à toute la manifestation dès la terrace d'une suite de luxe pour un maximum de quatre personnes, après la visite guidée extraordinaire sur le Palio avec nos guides expertes.

Langues disponibles: Any

Nous vous offrons la possibilité de vivre une expérience immersive de la tradition séculaire préservée par les citoyens de Sienne - le Palio. Cette année, pour le 16 de Août, vous aurez la possibilité de accèder à une terrasse avec vue sur la courbe de San Martino, dans un palais historique.

Langues disponibles: Any

Les dernières places disponibles pour le Palio du 2 Juillet 2018!

Langues disponibles: Any

On October 20, 2018 an extraordinary Palio will be held in Siena dedicated to the centenary of the end of the First World War. Be sure to see it from the best places around the square: in grandstands, balconies and terraces.

Langues disponibles: English, Italian, Spanish, French, Russian, German

Palio


Palio is many things. First of all, it is a horse race which takes place twice a year (July 2 and August 16) in the main square of Siena, Piazza del Campo. However, this doesn't make of it a mere sport or competition: Palio is the prize itself too, given to the winner district (contrada). The prize is a painting on a tissue drawn exclusively for the Palio by more or less well-known artists, for each occasion. The horse race itself only lasts 80 seconds, but Palio, it is an everlasting thing for the inhabitants of the city.



About the Palio


Palio is many things. First of all, it is a horse race which takes place twice a year (July 2 and August 16) in the main square of Siena, Piazza del Campo. However, this doesn't make of it a mere sport or competition: Palio is the prize itself too, given to the winner district (contrada). The prize is a painting on a tissue drawn exclusively for the Palio by more or less well-known artists, for each occasion. The race itself only lasts 80 seconds, but it's an everlasting thing for the inhabitants of the city.

Siena is organized into 17 different districts, or Contradas. These communities are not open to everyone: traditionally, the membership is given by birthright, and the initiation (Battesimo Contradaiolo) is one of the most important ceremonies in the community life, as it officially celebrates the joining of a Contrada. Anyone who gets the opportunity to

witness the Palio will soon realize that this is not an event organized for tourists. Obviously, everyone is welcome here, but consider that the Palio is an authentic and sincere tradition which lives in the hearts of the citizens and represents the most important moment of a year, if not of the entire life, spent as part of the community.

Why does Palio
take place?



Originally, Contradas were military units composed by workers' guilds that would provide soldiers to the city in case of need. In peacetimes, inhabitants would amuse and train themselves by taking part to particularly violent sports, such as pugnae, which resulted in disrupting the Republic's balance and in outspreading hate hard to repress. As years went by, all of this evolved in Palio which is still nowadays metaphor of a conflict regulated by laws.

Why twice
a year?



Since the very beginning, the Palio have always been organized for August 16. As a matter of fact, it is known as Palio dell'Assunta, as it is celebrated in honour of the Assumption of Mary into Heaven. In the middle of XVI century, the miracle of Madonna di Provenzano took place in Siena: according to the legend, a spanish soldier, member of Charles V's occupying army, tried to shoot a representation of Mary placed in Provenzano's district by Saint Catherine herself. Legend has it that the soldier's weapon exploded killing him, whereas the statue remained intact. The inhabitants of Siena decided to celebrate the miracle by organizing a horse race July 2, in honour of Mary from Provenzano.



Palio Days


Anyone who visits Siena during the days before Palio's horse race (from June 29 to July 2 or from August 13 to August 16) will be overwhelmed by a unique sets of colours, sounds, historical parades where flags, horses and traditional characters are the main actors, surrounded by crowds of supporters of the different districts (contradas).

From a newcomer's perspective, all of this would probably resemble a chaotic parallel world. But in fact, this is not the case. Everything you witness during the days before the horse race has its reason from the official assignment of the horses to the jockeys, which happens on June 29 and August 13, until the day of the race itself. Rules and practices remained the same throughout the centuries and are of particular importance for the local people. If you want to fully appreciate Siena's most important celebration, all you have to do is contact us.

Our local tourist guides are at your disposal and will be able to introduce you to all the aspects of Siena's history and traditions, including the specific rituals and rules of the Palio. You will have the chance of witnessing the horse assignment to the contradas from one of the balconies in front of our office in Piazza del Campo, the blessing of the horses before the race, or the initiation ritual of new members of contradas. We know exactly when all of this takes place and we will guide you to our unique tradition, if you want.



Palio Tickets




Aiming to promote sustainable and responsible tourism, we offer the opportunity of living an immersive experience of a secular tradition which has been cherished by Siena's citizens - the Palio. The Basic offer includes a guided tour on the day of the Palio and the chance to witness the horse race from a ringside seat above the curve of San Martino, quite a spectacular part of the square.

Languages available: Any

Aiming to promote sustainable and responsible tourism, we offer the opportunity of living an immersive experience of a secular tradition which has been cherished by Siena's citizens – the Palio. First Choice offer gives you the chance of sitting on the benches nearby Fonte Gaia, or even witnessing the race by one of the balconies above, after the guided tour with our expert local guides.

Languages available: Any

Aiming to promote sustainable and responsible tourism, we offer the opportunity of living an immersive experience of a secular tradition which has been cherished by Siena's citizens – the Palio. By choosing the Exclusive offer you can witness the race sitting on the benches right in front of "mossa", the starting point, which is one of the most intense and unique moments of the whole race.

Languages available: Any

Aiming to promote sustainable and responsible tourism, we offer the opportunity of living an immersive experience of a secular tradition which has been cherished by Siena's citizens – the Palio. This offer gives you the access to the window of a deluxe suite for a maximum of 4 people, after a Special Palio Tour with our expert local guides.

Languages available: Any